You may have seen them on the road and wondered what they were. Whiskey plates are special license plates that are assigned to drivers who have been convicted of certain DWI-related offenses in Minnesota. They are plain white with blue or black lettering, and the plate number always begins with a W, hence the name "whiskey" plates.
Some people view whiskey plates as a stigma, while others see them as a badge of dishonor. Either way, they are a fact of life for many Minnesota drivers. So, if you're curious about whiskey plates, read on for everything you need to know.
If you're convicted of a first-degree DWI , you will be required to use a whiskey plate for at least one year. If you're convicted of a second-degree DWI, you will be required to use a whiskey plate for at least six months.
If you are required to have a whiskey plate but do not have one, you will be subject to a fine of up to $1,000. You are not allowed to drive another car without a Whisky plate neither
The current price is $57 . You will also have to pay to get each set of regular license plates back after the time that they are being held. Your car insurance rates may also increase because of the DWI.
The idea behind whiskey plates is not to ridicule and humble a driver, but rather for law enforcement. These special license plates signify that you have been in an incident before with DUI or DWI; this makes your car more appealing when on patrol so they can detain them faster than if it wasn't marked by suchIdentifying marks
You will be still forced to use the Whisky plates in your vehicle
As of 2021, those who are convicted of DWIs in Minnesota can opt to install an ignition interlock device (IID) on their vehicle. This is a device that requires the driver to blow into it before the car will start. If the IID detects alcohol on the driver's breath, the car will not start.